Home

I don’t remember what I fell in love with more; the freedom or the familiar surroundings. An archipelago of colours unravel before me as I stand alone on the balcony. I breathe in the fresh air and find solace in a certain moment, a specific time and space. This is what I have missed, this is home. It’s November, the nights are cool but the warmth of the daily sun allows me to soak up the light through my veins. I’ve spent the past few days laughing too hard, eating too much and daydreaming my life away. It feels as though the chaotic path I have walked over the past few months no longer existed and I am here, safe and revived in my sanctuary; this world that I grew up in.

It’s a new day and my journey is about to end. I am saddened by my scheduled departure and wish that I could stay. The people, the places and the scenes are breathtaking and I feel somewhat guilty that I had never appreciated this when I was still walking these streets. I have been here for almost two weeks and it feels as though the time slipped by so easily. Was it because I didn’t have the ability to hold the seconds within my hands? After all this time away, I would have never thought that I’d fall so selfishly in love with this place again. It used to remind me of all the things I never wanted to be; entangled with a past that I was never proud of but now, it symbolises a yearning for solidarity and peace which I simply do not have access to.

Over 2012, I had made my way through Hong Kong’s hustle and bustle, felt the Devil’s advocate in Macau, felt the obedience of China’s residents, sat on milk crates in Ho Chi Minh City, sat in cafes nestled in the streets of Paris amongst the lights and have watched the traffic fly past me on Berlin’s highways yet, no place looks after me as much as this home does.

Home is where the heart is.
24th November 2013; Sydney, Australia

Bless.

Leave a comment