Home

The warmth of the sun enhances the morning air; allowing it to be infused with the lush greenery of the mountains. It’s a sweet scent but unlike the menthol-instilled eucalyptus, is subtle and allows one to breathe in and out with ease. For the first time in one and a half years, I am experiencing summer love in Hong Kong. Instead of the intense humidity, which is considered the norm in Asian countries, I am in fact basking in the sunlight and allowing myself to pace myself and recollect.

It’s Spring. The flora is in full bloom and the accompanying green is rich with a spectrum of hues revealing an ombre effect against the pale blue sky that exists quietly in the background. Sunday’s silence is understated yet it provides a stillness, which is much needed in this city. I miss days like this. I give permission to my sentimentality to take over.

I used to spend my days at the local coffee shop with close company and as I wait for my hazelnut latte to cool down, I look over the concrete boundaries and witness the locals walking up and down the ramp to the shopping centre. Cars would slowly accelerate to climb up the ascending road and the occasional honk of the horn would be heard as a frustrated driver shows his impatience. The day gives in to a stagnant state and it is as if time has momentarily stopped. The sun slides down the insanely vivid blue skies only to meet with warm sh ades of reds and oranges and despite nightfall being closer, the weather is still warm.

I pick up the metal teaspoon, stir my coffee and take a sip, the nutty syrup sending a sweet sensation into my nostrils. Chatter surrounds me and I find myself feeling relieved. It has been a long journey. I have travelled back and forth a numerous amount of times now yet, I can never get bored of this scenery because it is home. This is purely how I grew up. Alongside the people who have come from a similar fate, this is all I know and despite how I always want to avoid what once was, I can never forget who I really am and where I came from.

Coffee Stains in Sydney

Coffee Stains; sweet memories.

Bless.

Leave a comment